Authors: Thomas Keneally & Meg Keneally  (Tom’s daughter)

Award winning Australian author, Tom Keneally: Order of Australia

Born in Australia in 1935.  Tom’s first novel was published in 1964 and has written over fifty books and thirty novels. Both non-fiction & fiction. In March 2009, Prime Minister of Australia Mr. Kevin Rudd presented an autographed copy of Tom Keneally’s book ‘Lincoln’ to the 44th President of the United States of America, President Barack Obama as a gift. 

Movies: Schindler’s List, The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith, The Devil’s Playground, The Final Winter, Essington, Silver City.

Tom Keneally’s publications to date…in alphabetical order

A Country Too Far | A family Madness | A River Town | Abraham Lincoln – A life | American Scoundrel | An angel in Australia | Another Country – writers in detention | Australians – Flappers to Vietnam series  | Betany’s Book | Blood Red, Sister Rose | Bring Larks and Heroes | By the Line | Confederates |  Eureka to the Diggers | Flying Hero Class | Gossip from the Forest | Homebush Boy | Jacko the Great Intruder | Napoleon’s Last Island | Schindler’s Ark –Schindler’s list | Searching for Schindler | Season in Purgatory | Shame and the Captives |  The Book of Science and Antiquities | The Chant of Jimmy Blacksmith | The Commonwealth of Thieves | The Crimes of the Father |  The Daughters of Mars  |The Great Shame | The Office of innocence | The Peoples Train | The Place at Whitton | The Playmaker | 
The Tyrant’s novel | The Widow and Her Hero | Three Cheers for the Paraclete | Three Famines | Timberlake Wertenbaker | To Asmara | Two Old Men Dying | Victim of the Aurora | Woman of the Inner Sea | 

Meg Keneally

Meg has worked as a public affairs officer, sub-editor, freelance feature writer, reporter and talk back radio producer. She is co-author with Tom Keneally in The Monsarrat Series.

Meg Keneally’s first solo novel, Fled, was based on the escape of First Fleet convict Mary Bryant, was published in 2019 and has been optioned for film. She is currently working on her second solo novel, The Wreck, out in 2020.

The Monsarrat Series: The Soldier’s Curse, The Unmourned,The Power Game and The Ink Stain. The first four books in the Monsarrat Series of historical murder mysteries. The fifth in the series, The Valley of the Swells (the first Monsarrat story to involve a serial killer), will be published in Australia in 2021

Speaking themes-topics by Tom and Meg may include, but are not limited to:
  • Press freedom – Today
  • Female leadership and the resistance to it.
  • Leadership generally, and conversely the pitfalls of herd behaviour
  • #MeToo
  • Welfare and workers’ rights
  • Inequality of opportunity
  • Discrimination based on class, gender or race
  • Media and reputation. What has changed, what hasn’t.
  • Writing – the creative process. The how to’s and why not’s? The motivation, your motivation! 

History shows us we may not have come as far as we think we have, and has lessons for us relating to various aspects of modern society’.

Duration: 1 x 60 mins. (approx 40 mins presentation and 20 mins Q&A)

Book Now: Tom and Meg together on stage or individually

A/V: To be provided. NB: Filming is subject to approval by The Keneally’s.

Meet and Greets: prior to commencement and strictly by request, per event running sheet

Guest’s photo opportunities: duration TBA

NB: Books are available for purchase prior to event, as gifts for guests and attendees, please allow min 14 days for shipping etc.